Events Program

Sponsors & Partners

Latest News

Local NYC Business

Organizer
The Nature Conservancy
Location
Zoom
Host Contact Details
Connect

Smart Siting of Renewable Energy in India: Leading a Clean and Green Global Future

The pandemic has made clear that we need global solutions to global problems. Building a sustainable world has never been more important, and India—home to nearly one-fifth of humanity— is essential to that future.

India is growing rapidly, with 75% of the infrastructure planned for 2030 still in development. It is also a global hotspot for biodiversity, hosting 8% of the planet’s total animal and plant species. The Nature Conservancy plays a unique role at a critical juncture in India—guiding smart development that de-risks investments while balancing strategic conservation for people and nature. With science, strong partnerships, and effective collaborations, we are helping India tackle climate change and conserve the lands and waters needed to sustain its people, economy, and iconic wildlife.

Join us for Climate Week NYC 2020 to learn how renewable energy growth in India is setting the pace for the world, aided by SiteRight, The Nature Conservancy’s new, open access web tool developed to identify locations for new wind and solar projects with the lowest impact on ecosystems and local communities. Built on the most comprehensive ecological, social, and economic science, SiteRight is key to accelerating a clean and green future in India and beyond.

Part 1 – Keynote Address & Launch of Renewable Energy Siting Tool, SiteRight 8:00 – 8:30am EDT 5:30 – 6:00pm IST

Part 2 – Panel Discussion, Audience Q&A, Key Takeaways & Path Forward 8:30 – 9:30am EDT 6:00 – 7:00pm IST